101 Things in 1001 Days

A friend of mine from Bible study came to the end of a project – do 101 things in 1,001 days. The idea is to give oneself a generous time limit to get a whole bunch of things you’ve wanted to do done. I decided to try this myself, and my 1,001 days starts today. I won’t post the exhaustive list, but around 15 of the items may be found below. It should be fun.

  • Write 45 blog posts: I’ve been miserable about updating this blog. Part of that might be due to the fact that my attempts at apologetics pale in comparison to the wonderful Shameless Popery blog. Expect to see some more gun posts (about half my list is firearms-related) and computer game related posts. There will still be some apologetics attempts, some theology book reviews, and general blogging about being Catholic.
  • Shoot 10,000 rounds in a calendar year: I started hand loading ammunition late last year, and I want to become a competent rifle and pistol shooter. This might be a tough goal to hit – it works out to 200 rounds a weekend, almost every weekend – but it should be doable. Probably.
  • Go to another Latin Mass: Some of my Catholic friends invited me to St. Stephen’s in Sacramento, an FSSP parish. The 1962 Mass was beautiful, complex, and hard to follow. While I think the SSPX are kind of nuts with the New-Mass-Is-Evil shtick, I also think we definitely lost something with the 1970 reforms. Hopefully the Reform of the Reform of the Roman Rite will bring back the reverence and silence of the older rite.
  • Learn some Latin: See above. Also, I’ve got a Latin textbook I bought when thinking about learning the old language years ago. Latin is cool, I should pick it up.
  • Take a Udacity course: I’ve been signed up for the free online university for quite some time. While I’ve heard great things about their courses, I procrastinate. So now I’m going to make myself take one, probably the Python course.
  • Go to 5 Theology On Tap talks: I went to one ToT talk, probably two years ago. I really enjoyed it, but didn’t have the opportunity to go to more. A few months ago, I found a ToT venue in Sacramento, so I’ll be heading out that way.
  • Shoot the Yolo Sportsman’s CMP Match: It’s not quite a CMP match – all the targets are at 100 yards – but participating gets you the certificate you need to order firearms through the Civilian Marksmanship Program. Entry is cheap, and pretty much an semiautomatic centerfire rifle with iron sights will do. Hopefully by the time the next match rolls around I’ll have replaced my MBUS with some real iron sights…
  • Get an M1 Garand (and load 30’06 for it): It’s a great rifle, and I want one.
  • Read the Summa Theologica: I cheated and broke this into five items, both for morale purposes (“I’m totally sort of making progress!”) and because it’s so bloody long.
  • Publish a first author paper: Long overdue, and will be fulfilled early this year, with any luck. Also on the list: Get a PhD.
  • Go to Alaska (in the winter): My girlfriend’s family lives in Alaska, and she wants to live there someday. I think the idea of relatively constitutional gun laws and no income or sales tax. Less keen on the forty-below springtimes and probability of being eaten by a bear. If I make it back, I’ll report on the frozen tundra.
  • Write a simple (but complete) video game: I took three courses in game development at Grove City College, and loved every sleep-deprived credit hour of it. I haven’t managed to make a single game since then, mostly because of over-ambitious ideals. I’ve been reading about the Bullet Physics engine, so I’m resolving to write a simple game (probably 2D) using it. The goal is something small, but finished and polished. Something that doesn’t look like a half-baked beta.
  • Do the “Total Consecration to Mary” thing: I’m fairly Marian in theology, and less so in practice. This particular devotion has been strongly recommended by many, including the ever-entertaining Bad Catholic.
  • Read The Institutes of the Christian Religion by John Calvin: I tried to read this once back when I was Reformed, and again after I reverted to the Catholic Faith. The appeals to ridicule in the place of argument wore very thin, but some parts were valuable, and I’ve been told it gets better.
  • Follow the Dominicana Revelation study: The Dominican (go figure) monks over at Dominicana put together a study guide for Revelation. My only prolonged/in-depth exposure to the book was during my time at the fundamentalist high school, so I’m eager for a slightly more traditional perspective.

 

 

Leave a Reply

