Resolutions

The calendar year draws to a close, which means it is time to make a series of promises to break in the new year. This past year, I managed to fulfill all but one (work through the Latin textbook) of an incredibly unambitious list of resolutions. Here are mine for 2012, in no particular order.

Make reasonable piano-learning progress: This one isn’t too well defined, mostly because I have no idea how fast one should progress when teaching oneself to play an instrument (especially one’s first instrument). I bought a keyboard last year, and made some good progress at first, but then abandoned it when time got tight.

Publish a paper: It’s my second year of graduate school, and I have a really cool set of data with a really cool problem to solve, and a really cool direction to work in (I might be excited about this, just a tad). It’s past time to get a solution and publish it.

Go to Confession regularly: Currently, I go slightly more often than I’m supposed to at minimum, which is not very often at all. I should go more often, if for no other reason than the fact that pride sometimes keeps me from going.

Learn to shoot, and get a CCW: I live in a may-issue state, so the latter may not depend on me. I’ve got a good carry pistol now. I’m going to practice with it this year, and take a handgun safety course. If all goes well, I’ll also get a licensed to carry a concealed firearm.

Learn the words to Auld Lang Syne: I didn’t know them this year, and I need an easy resolution. Maybe I’ll even learn to play it on the piano.

Leave a Reply

