Banana Bread Recipe

I like baking things, and I’ve been working on a modification of this recipe – adding walnuts, cinnamon, and nutmeg. The quantity of butter is also increased. This recipe yields a banana bread loaf of roughly 115 cubic inches (8.5″x 4.5″x~3″ – your base size may differ)

Banana Bread

Final result of this recipe

Ingredients

Here is the revised ingredients list, in the order you will need them:

  • 4 bananas.
  •  0.5 cup of butter, melted.
  • 0.75 cup of white granulated sugar.
  • 1 egg, beaten.
  • 1.5 teaspoons vanilla extract.
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda.
  • ~1 teaspoon of nutmeg
  • 3 teaspoons of cinnamon.
  • 0.75 cup chopped walnuts (I generally put whole ones in a bag and hit them with a hammer.)
  • 1.5 cups flour.

Procedure

And here is what I do:
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Put the four peeled bananas in a large bowl and smash them. I just generally use my hands.
  3. Add and stir in the half cup of melted butter.
  4. Add and stir in the white sugar.
  5. Beat and add one egg.
  6. Add the vanilla extract and baking soda.
  7. Sprinkle the nutmeg over the mixture. I generally go for roughly 75% surface coverage, and I think it translates to around 1 teaspoon if you just want to add it.
  8. Add 3 teaspoons of cinnamon.
  9. Add the walnuts and the flour, and stir until the mixture is relatively uniform.
  10. Pour the mixture into your buttered baking pan.
  11. Bake at 350 degrees for roughly fifty minutes. You can use the “clean something-I-stabbed-it-with-test” if you like.
  12. Eat.

Please let me know if you have any comments or modifications. A friend of mine suggested adding half an once of whiskey. It turned out rather well, but you may want to add some extra flour.

I posted the volume of the final result because I always get annoyed when the recipe tells me what pan size to use. I don’t have every possible pan dimension under the sun. If they just give me the volume, I can figure out the pan size. </rant>

Leave a Reply

