Summer of Economics

Summer is here, heralding the end of classes and the freedom of my evenings. I’m hoping to put them to good use – though doubtless many will fall to Modern Warfare or Counter-Strike – but already my best-laid plans have been partially derailed. Initially, I had planned to use the summer to brush up on linear algebra and Spanish (the unofficial second language of the Roaring 20s). The good news is that I’m definitely catching up on the linear.

The bad news is that Spanish has been temporarily or permanently supplanted by a semi-impromptu study of economics. A recent discussion over the role and origin of interest with some friends showed me that my economic knowledge wasn’t quite as sharp as it probably should be. Economics is politically and personally important. Politics matters a great deal to me, and it would be irresponsible to try to run a household someday without a grasp of the theory. Therefore, I need to study.

Books on economics recently hijacked the top of my reading queue. I’m currently working by way through the Adam Smith’s Wealth of Nations, and hoping to finish that by the end of July. The month of August will be dedicated to Keynes’ General Theory, hopefully to understand the reasoning behind that influential system. Mises’ Human Action gets the month of September (still summer on the UC schedule) to defend the Austrian ideas.

I’d love to fit in something by the Chicago school, and maybe (ha!) I’ll get ahead of schedule. In any case, it should be fun.

5 responses to “Summer of Economics

  1. If you’re looking for something Chicago I would suggest Milton Friedman’s “Capitalism and Freedom.”

    Best of Luck

  2. I love how you equate economic theory with personal finances. “Should I buy the wal-mart brand or the name brand? I wonder what Keyne’s would do…”

  3. Thanks – I’ll definitely look into it.

  4. @Scott

    In retrospect, I definitely made too strong a connection between the two subjects. However, while macro-economics would probably be less useful, I would wager that a lot of generic economic theory is useful – perhaps even necessary – when making some of the more major financial decisions in life.

    My motivation is mostly political, and I was trying to find a way to make economics more appealing to people less interested in politics.

  5. Fair enough, it just amused me.

Leave a Reply

